Why it is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own, due to the fact that you can learn from them and correct yourselves

Perhaps no subject in the world is as likely to cause so much controversy as the truth does. An issue in dispute is that whether the abosulute truth is attaintable or not. Some poeple advocate that with the truth at hand it is more important to wxpose ourselves to the media that approve our beliefs, while opponents suggest that since the truth is relative we can learn a great deal from others and correct our views. In my opinion, it is more imprtant to read or watch news presentend by people whose views are diffrent from my own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to mine, for two reasons.

First and foremost, I belive that no set of human views and belifes are completly true, so we most always be inclined to correct our ideas through exposing them to critisism and diffrent alternative views of our opponents. For example, I was born in Iran in a religious family. Therefore, my family and the educational system of islamic regime of Iran thought me that Islam is the only true persfective in the world and all other theories, perspectives and paradigms aro totally worng. As I grew older, I've read a lot about the alternative beliefs, so I learned that having a religion depends on the geographical location that you are born in. In fact, If I were born in india, It would be more likely that I was a hindu. As a consequent, I found out that truth is relative, so it's better to know our limitations and progress our limited knowledge by constant crtisizing and apeal to rationality. As newton once said "what we know is a drop, what we don't know is an ocean.".That's why I vote for the benefit of exposure to the difftent views and perspectives through news.

Secondly, if we just provide our selves with the similiar views, we are more suspectible to fell in the illusion of having the ultimate truth and to be oppresive and totalitarian. For instance, the Islamic repuplic of Iran is a totalitarian regime that acts violently toward people eho have diffrent opinions. This causes many problems for both people and government. Foer example in the presidential elections, an organization under the power of the supreme leader assign the candidates that people can choose from. Obviously, we can not call this kiond of election free because candidates with radically diffrent views are not among them, so many people don't have a representative in the hiarchy of power. In fact, many poeple think that we should mend our relations with the United States but the regime censor this view systematicaly. Consequently we have many financial problems in our country because of the America's sanctions. If the Islamic regime were more tolerant, we would have a better welfare. Therefore, I belive hearing the diffrent new and views is advantegous for both people and regimes.

From what has been discussed above one can reach a conclusion that It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own, due to the fact that you can learn from them and correct yourselves. In adittion, we would be less vulnerable to illusion of having the ultimate truth. In the end, I suggest that pepople should expose themselves to diffrent views by going to diffrent atmospheres.