test 1

When studying at school, students are always forced to understand arduous theories, which make them so perplexed that people gradually hold the view that it is enough for students to learn facts rather than understand ideas and concepts. However, from my perspective, ideas and concepts make the base for facts, that’s why ideas and concepts are equally significant to facts.

Firstly, only when students know the ideas and concepts can they be able to understand the facts. If they only learn the facts, what they remember is just what happened not why it happened. For example, when I was in primary school, one day I found the rainbow was colorful with various kinds of colors, and I thought it was painted by someone flying in the sky. Fortunately, in a physics class, my teacher told us that the formation of a rainbow depends on water and sunlight, then I realized that what I originally thought was totally wrong. After figuring out the concept, I could even make up a rainbow by myself. From the former experience, it is obvious that learning ideas and concepts help students understand facts instead of letting them believe in wrong thoughts.

Secondly, ideas and concepts lead to more methods to solve problems. When facing problems, what people need to do is to find out the source rather than trap in the same place. If people know where the problems come out, they can come up with a corresponding solution to the point. When cancer was first discovered, what people knew was that it was a strange disease without reasons. After several years of discovering, scientists finally came to the conclusion that it was because of genetic disruption. With such a discovery and concept, doctors are able to treat patients with different valid ways rather than just try everything they have used, and cancer becomes a illness which can be cured.

Admittedly, learning facts is an effective way to acquire new knowledge and apply it to work with a fast speed. Nevertheless, during campus life, learning basic ideas and concepts wins over adapting to work. When students become employees, they will have numerous chances to learn facts, but they will never have a second opportunity to investigate a pure idea or concept. Therefore, the best way to cherish education is to learn basic knowledge.

In a nutshell, compared with facts, ideas and concepts are more important in schools for they play a key role in forming students’ ways of thinking, so I firmly agree with the statement.