Write a statement to agree or disagree. People spend more time on personal enjoyment rather than on what they should do

Life is too short to spend time on unnecessarily things, this short period should rather be spent on meaningful and impactful stuffs. I agree with the notion that people would spend all their time being involved in chivalrous activities rather than on useful and imperative thing. I feel this way for two reasons, which I would explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the absence of supervision some times has made people more relaxed, most especially at the work place. Employees tend to be preoccupied with personal stuffs, or prefer to having a gist with their colleagues, rather than putting more efforts in getting better at their job and ensuring efficacy and productivity. For instance, once, I was at a bank to lodge a complaint about a wrongful transaction made in my account. I was told to wait for the customer care specialist which I did, however, time after time, this lady refused to come attend to me or even any of the other complainers awaiting her arrival. It was after I flared up and demanded to see the manager because I was being delayed for so long, that this particular staff came out. When the managing director came and requested an explanation as to what she was doing out of her position for so long, to my greatest surprise, she said and I quote, "my fiancé who lives outside the country requested to have a video call with me," video calls while at work and not on break, really? This scenario has made me realize how people tend to be so loating and lethargic with their duties.

Furthermore, this information-age where technology increase is so overwhelming, has distracted lot of people, particularly students. My particular experience is a compelling illustration of this, most of us easily get carried away by posts on social media rather than on what the professor is lecturing. Once, we had this strict prof. and she noticed most of us with our phones and the subtle giggles some were making, she literally left us to do what we were so engrossed in. After the class, she told us to tear a sheet of paper for a test, our countenance betrayed the shocking reality we experience. At the end of the test, most of us failed, because we didn't pay much attention to her lectures. Based on this experience, I can confidently concur that most people would pick pleasure over being focused especially when engaging in a boring or soporific act.

In conclusion, I strongly opine that quite some persons have centered more of their time to personal enjoyment rather than on things that require urgency. This is because, the lack of supervision and the increase in technology has served as a means to distract people from focusing on what is pertinent and imperative.