Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

The rate of advancement in technology definitely comes with it's pros and cons. Basically life is intended to function that way, every situations, decisions, as well as scientific researches would have its advantages and diasdvantages. The prompt suggests that mass media and internet has reduced people listening span, and it further says; although the effect has been positive because people are able to compensate that by sorting through plethora information to find what's important. I mostly agree with this stance, although, the author fails to take note of some certain circumstances where listening skills is more needed and beneficial to sorting out informtion, and i would explain my opinion on this giving three reasons.

Firstly, It's true that the high dependent on the intenet and medias have currently taken a lot if not everyone time,everyone get busy with their phones most time either surfing through Instagram, Twitter, while some do use it for information purpose to check on trendy news and get more aware of what's going on around them. For instance, a professor could be with his laptop and phones trying to check through research areas he could explore, perhaps he could be checking through literature reviews to keep up on what others has done in his related field. In such situation, he's trying to come up with a scientific research for the advancement of the "world" because a change in a particular nation could influence changes in other countries. For someone like this prof. he might not have the luxury of time to hang out with friends and listen to them talk due to him concentrating more on research work, but he's investing more of that time to search for change. In this case we could say that indeed media is helpful in helping bring about change, although the friends he has neglected won't feel the same.

Furthermore, taking a case study from those who have had positive impacts in the world. People that have brought about change in the technology space, most of these men sacrifice their time to come up with an intiative, and the end if their investment yields they become rich and also provide employment opportunities for people. Taking an instance from the CEO of Meta, he must have neglected and failed to give attention to some of his close friends so as to achieve a greater pursuits. For someone like him, it's more profitable and adviseable for him to spend more time surfing through statistics of his company growth, how well his competitors are doing, and also other strategies to improve his own company. All of these could have taken up all his mind that he might not have the time for a long chit-chat with friends and family. This doesn't only apply to the big men in the world, even the employees would rather spend more time learning skills that would make them earn a promotion. Basically, competitions is everywhere and in all sectors, so its more imperative for people to spend time building on themselves as a person and also on their profile business wise.

However, not having or spending quality time could have detrimental effect to the person you precluding. In other words, the person one is neglecting due to one "busyness" might be in dire need of a listening ear. This is one of the major reason for the high sucide cases currently. Everone claim to be busy improving theior lives,that they neglect those that truly needs them. A case study can be drafted from a sucide case that trended on twitter last week. He died because no one care to listen to what he has in his mind. Truly, depression kills, not being able to have someone to communicate to can honestly lead one to the hand of sucide. Also, employers need to take note of their employees growth, how they are doing and what they can do to improve. Neglecting this aspect can be so detrimental to the company's growth since they play an integral part.This is why paying attention to people surrounding you also play an important role.

In sum, while we can't shy away from the fact that the internet and social medias is here to stay,we need to spend quality time to check onpeople that really matters to us, not just that, even strangers, as one listening sympathy could change that person's life. To improve humanity and humankind a perfect blend of spending quality time with people while engaging in one "busy" activity should be encouraged.