Your job has more effect on your happiness than your social life does

Happiness is the ultimate life goal for most people, no matter they are poor or rich. There is a heated topic being discussed whether the job has more effect on an individual’s happiness or social life does. From my vantage point, a job plays a pivotal role in one’s happiness more than anything else does. I will elaborate on my perspectives as follows.

To start with, reliable money earning resource represents one could live the life with high quality independently. The solid pecuniary background offered by a job can efficiently build one’s guts to develop interests that need lots of money to support. For example, I’m always a zealous video game player who’d like to spend 6000 CNY to get the most advanced PlayStation5 to playing computer games. Video games like Call of Duty series can always bring me a lot of joy by shooting in fantasy battlefield environments. This hobby wasn’t applauded by my parents since they considered it costs lots of money, especially since our family was facing the pressure of housing mortgage back then. However, when I get a job that offers me 20.000 CNY per month after graduation, there is no way for my parents to interfere with my life since I allocate my salary to support my interest. Not to mention, the electronic games provide me platforms to socializing with friends who we share the same interest in games. Thus, I firmly hold my opinion that a job has more effect on one’s happiness than social life does.

Moreover, the sense of achievement which only working can bring to me means more than joy in social life. The attention and recognition I gained from a job give positive feedback to my diligence hard work, which give me ultimate happiness. For example, my job is creating a fantasy sci-fi world by doing game concept design. I feel satisfied every time my product gives users exposure to greater creativity and offer them an easy escape from the stress of world. People may feel depressed since they face hectic working schedule and living pressure in this modern world, however, playing the game I design is a great way to de-stress from the demands of everyday life. Even though I haven’t met my users, but it feels like there exists a connection between us. Since I always look over players’ comments on reddit toward the experiences playing the game, which makes me happy and not alone at all.Thus, according to the aforementioned, a job has more effect on one’s happiness.

Admittedly, Maintaining an active social life can help ward off the feelings of isolation and loneliness that can lead to depression. Surround yourself with positive relationships that can enrich your daily life. However, one cannot rely on others to get happiness lifelong, instead one should seek intrinsic joy by getting a good job. I believe only make contributions to this society and thus the world a better place could lead one get extreme pleasant feelings.

Therefore, regarding to my opinions above, I firmly believe that job has mor effect on one’s happiness than social life does