The advantage of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. Discuss the extent to which you would agree/disagree with this statement. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience and examples.

Nowadays, the proliferation of English as a language has attracted many controversies and drawn attention from the public. Some people claim that there are more merits associated with English as a global language, while in my opinion, this fact is certainly true. This essay will further elaborate on both the sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are many reasons why the spread of English has more positives. The most conspicuous one is that the English is the widely accepted lingua franca all around the globe. Moreover, it is more prevalent in various fields like business, trade and commerce. For example, it has become easier for people to communicate in English in the modern world than speaking any other language. Hence, the influence of English as a language has brought countries closer and on the same platform.

Nevertheless, there are some downsides, which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of English. The most alarming one is that there is a loss of most of the native and regional languages in many countries. Furthermore, learning English requires an extra effort. For instance, one has to make efforts to process and comprehend English when compared to vernacular languages. Thus, this shows that the spread of English has put a limit on the use of other dialects.

In the views of the arguments outlined above, I would like to stress that the impact of English as a global language is prominent and the advantages associated with it far outweigh the downsides.