Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

The importance of the decision making on the base of a person’s age, which frequently generated a great deal of heated debate, has now become even more controversial. Some proponents maintain that the age discrimination against older worker should be made illegal, while opponents claim that this action does not break the law. This essay will elaborate on how the underlying reasons are leading to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there is a myriad of reasons why it is not right to underestimate the elder, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that they have more experiences than younger employees. An instance illustrating this action is the fact that 60 percent of the top positions in a company are the age of 50 to 60 according to the recent survey from the United Nation Department. Therefore, older workers have a great distribution to the economy.

Moving on to consider the opposing arguments push forward by critics, some people believe that it is legal to against the older workers. This is largely attributed to the fact that they can not suffer stress at work as well as the young workers. One of the most considerable evidence illuminates this is the qualitative study conducted from Sydney University. This study has frequently cited that 80 percent of elder workers want to quit their job due to hard pressure at work. Therefore, such extensive research is the convincing evidence proving that the company should have the policy to narrow the working age.

In conclusion, taking these points into consideration, from a personal perspective, I can confidently state that the government should take action against the age discrimination by making a law.