Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

It is common to have an employer look down upon the employment of the older employee. Company management deems older employees as incapable of good performance and this results in unfair treatment such as unwarranted dismissals and frustrating them so that they leave the company. This essay will discuss why age discrimination in the workplace should be unlawful and punishable by law.

Unfair treatment of the workers in the senior age group comes in many forms, the manager will aim to frustrate them whenever a promotion should happen by not considering them for that opportunity. In addition to that, an employer will select them first whenever the company is conducting retrenchments during layoffs despite them being productive employees. Most employers consider senior workers as docile and unmotivated and instead opt to hire younger employees who they consider energetic and ambitious.

Employees who have been in the workforce for many years bring a lot of experience to the setup especially in technical areas and in the construction industry where operations are very mechanical. They are more driven as they have responsibilities and goals, unlike younger people who are yet to have families and loans. This reasoning by employers is ill-informed and very unfair. Furthermore, senior employees' can also play a good role in mentoring the incoming young employees which would increase their performance rate.

In conclusion, denying the senior workers opportunities in the workforce for advancements and treating them in an inconsiderate way should be punishable by law. In my opinion, the government and workers unions should enforce laws that protect the more experienced workers from unfair treatment from employers.