The Apple 2020 revolution

The Apple 2020 revolution: Google and Microsoft have failed, Apple has to success.

Because the display experience on the smartphone is going to a dead-end; as a result, the iPhone also will go into the same way if there's nothing more refreshing. The only route for Apple is a potential digital world that Google and Microsoft explored (but they have failed).

The history of the hi-tech market development has proved that sight is the most important sense for human: Amazon pioneered the smart speaker revolution in 2015, which just need the voice to get access to information from the internet or control digital devices. However, all the technology giants such as Google, Apple, Microsoft or even Samsung also jumped into this field after 4 years, but in the end, smart speakers still can't replace for smartphones.

When Steve Jobs launched the iPhone in 2007, this was synonymous with a concept of the most standard screened device: "modern smartphone" created. That was not only a small device for people to carry wherever but also was a powerful device; moreover, it even can display all kinds of content those people want on a big screen.

The iPhone faces challenges when the screen is expected to become more perfect

At that time, the smartphone was the best technology form, which people can touch. Nevertheless, this technology also has harmed to smartphone companies, especially for Steve Jobs’ company. For example, iPhone revenue decreased by 30% in the last quarter and Apple was still a hardware company although other segments (especially services field) have developed. Therefore, Apple needed one more next revolution, and Tim Cook also promised about that revolution.

THE PLACE MICROSOFT AND GOOGLE WERE UNSUCCESSFUL

Of course, this has to be a display revolution. This must be a real revolution, which is not only an increase resolution or OLED, etc., but also has to refresh the human’s display experience. Apple has to refresh the way of interaction with the digital world as the same way of the Macintosh, iPod, iPhone or iPad did in the past.

There were at least two giants had done the same way because there was no way for “pack” the digital space into the screen, so they blended the digital space to the cyberspace. Google launched Google Glass with Android 4.4, which was full of integrated features in 2013. Microsoft also launched HoloLens with cyberspace, which had the Windows' tone colour values in 2016.

AR- a potential field but Microsoft and Google were unsuccessful.

Nevertheless, both of them were unsuccessful in attracting the customer. Google Glass had an initial price of up to 1500 USD and HoloLens even cost 3500 USD (for the technology developers). However, two kinds of these technologies only can become special solutions for business because of the concerns about privacy and limited experience.

THE APPLE FAMILIAR WAY

Ironically, Microsoft and Google's failures have created a golden chance for Apple to develop this field. Apple has had the same succeeded way in the decades: let others went ahead, after their stumbles, Apple has come in and found out a complete solution then ... becoming successful. For example, Microsoft has had a tablet since 2001 but they used the Windows keyboard-optimized interface; Apple created the touch's optimal tablet and got success. Google launched Android Wear before Apple half a year, but Google did not create an optimized interface for "one touch" button as well as did not use the intuitive rotary knob; Apple Watch has not made this mistake so Apple "monopolizes" the smartwatch market now.

Apple is good in improving other's ideas

In the AR field, Microsoft and Google have faced the "optimal experience" issue; however, Apple has solved it very well so far. And we have to wait until 2020 to know what Apple AR’s experience is.