Cashless society is becoming a reality. More and more people are using credit cards for payment, and less people use cash. How realistic do you think to achieve cashless society? What are the benefits or problems of this phenomenon?

Nowadays, it is impossible to denied that technology is developing in an extraordinary speed/modern technology has totally changed our way of spending. Recently, the topic about cashless city draws attention from the public/cashless city becomes a hot topic of discussion among all population. This essay will elaborate the reality of cashless society and pros and cons of this phenomenon.

To commence with, I believe that cashless city will be pervasive in all developed and developing countries within a few decades. Everyone has one or more smart phone and plenty of credit cards now, and they are all available for paying. When the privacy and convenience of cashless paying improve, more and more people will use them instead of using cash. For example, apple pay and credit card are available in many stores in developed countries such as Australia. Hence, with the advertising and education of this technology, cashless city will be popularised in more countries soon.

Secondly, I want to explore the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. It is irrefutable that it is so convenience to use credit card to pay instead of cash. For instance, you only need a second to pay in credit card in a supermarket while it may take more than a minute to pay in cash. Moreover, it is also safer as people don’t need to carry a huge amount of cash in their wallet. However, privacy and cybercrime are problems that people should be aware. Paying everything digitally means companies like bank can track every action and expenditure of you, it may be a privacy problem. In addition, it also means cybercrime will be rising as most people use phones or card to pay. To give an example, your bank account or credit card are more likely to be stolen.

In conclusion, although I think that cashless city will be reality soon, citizens and government should pay attention to the benefits and problems of this phenomenon and try to avoid the problem.