As cities expanding, some people claim governments should look forward creating better networks of public transportation available for everyone rather than building more roads for vehicle owning population. What’s your opinion? Give some examples or experience to support.

Nowadays, it is irrefutable that a complete transport system plays an important role in expanding cities. Recently, whether governments should focus on improving public transportation or building more roads for vehicle owning population has sparked a heated debate across the globe. I believe that public transport plays a vital role in good transport system and this essay will elaborate how a better road system helps to enhance the daily transportation system in environmental and economic view.

To commence with, public transport is more environmentally friendly than vehicles. As research shows that carbon dioxide emission from vehicles is the major reason contribute to global warming, encouraging citizens take public transport instead of driving own vehicle can efficiently reduce air pollution and slows down climate change. It helps to solve environmental challenges as well as improving the health of citizens. As a result, building public transportation should be government priority from an environment point of view.

Secondly, from an economic perspective, a well-developed public transportation networks save moneys. For individuals, having own cars means lots of expenditure such as insurances and services. In fact, research shows that only families or friends who share private vehicle to work or study benefits from this. Moreover, improving public transportation is cheaper than building more roads from a government view. Hence, it is a cheaper way with a higher efficiency which our government should do.

In conclusion, although building roads can benefit certain groups of people from building more roads, the government can reach a better effect with less cost to create better public transportation network. Therefore, the government must investigate ways and take necessary step to improve public transport system to benefit the majority.