Cheating and lying are sometimes acceptable.
Cheating and lying seem to pervade all levels of society, from the playground to
international politics. Many people find all forms of deceit unacceptable while
others are the perpetrators of this deceit. This essay will argue that there are
several reasons why cheating and lying is unacceptable in all situations.
Cheating and lying can result in the breakdown of trust between friends, family
members, and business partners. Trust is the basis of all relationships, personal
and business. For example, promises that are not kept can result in long term
difficulties in reliability, predictability, certainty and closing deals made between
people. This can have negative long term consequences for all parties involved.
Everyone has the right to know the truth. Deceiving people can cause false hope.
Even in the case of a person experiencing a terminal illness, it is appropriate that
the truth be understood, and deception avoided. The right to be told the truth as it
is understood is fundamental to human health and well being.
This essay has argued that cheating and lying is never acceptable because it
breaks down trust which is the basis of healthy relationships, even in the face of
terminal illness. I maintain that in matters of human communication and
relationship building, the absence of cheating and lying is best adhered to in
order to build confidence and long term partnerships.