'Computer technology has had more of a negative than a positive impact on society. How far do you agree with this statement? Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience.

These days there is an ongoing debate among people about computer technology. Some argue that it is beneficial while others oppose this statement. This has been the epicenter of discussion in multiple forums and a conclusive unanimous agreement is yet to be achieved. The below write-up puts forth my views on the same followed by a reasoned conclusion.

Computers have tremendous impact on society. There are various advantages of these machines. First and foremost, these are fast and reliable and all the calculations are done in seconds. Secondly, these machines never exhaust. For instance, in IBM, the datacenter is running from years without restart.

As every coin has two sides, there are several drawbacks too. One major disadvantage is that, due to automation, many people are losing their jobs. Moreover, excessive use of computers is harmful for eyes. For example, according to a recent survey in India, almost 40 percent of kids have weak eyesight as they are addicted to computer games.

In my opinion, Computers are boon for the mankind as it provides numerous benefits. However, for some people the opposite is true.

Taking everything into consideration, the points discussed above are convincing enough to lead me to the conclusion and I would like to accentuate the fact that, computers should be used effectively and efficiently for best results.