Do you think consumer should avoid over packed products or it is the responsibility of product producers to avoid extra packaging of the products.

Product designers are now putting significant efforts to improve the look and feel of the boxes in which the products reach the consumers. But this over-emphasis on packaging often results in wastage of resources. While some people believe that it is the responsibility of consumers to boycott products which have excessive packing, others maintain that it should be controlled during the manufacturing phase of the product. This essay will discuss why consumers will never be in the right position to curb over packaging and, therefore it should be the responsibility of product owners to keep the packaging moderate.

Of all the factors that determine the purchasing decision of an average shopper, price is the major aspect. Even if a consumer finds that a product is over packaged, he might be tempted to buy it if the price is within his budget. A recent survey shows that majority of consumers chose products with lower price tag, no matter the packaging. Under these circumstances, there is no reason to believe that consumers should check over packaging issue.

Despite the inability of consumers, some people believe that efficient utilization of packaging resources is the responsibility of consumers. What they don’t understand is that, not all consumers have same level of awareness or expertise in this matter. For example, people who have not completed a university degree cannot understand all the packaging styles and needs. This makes it clear that it should be the responsibility of manufacturers to curtail the trend of over packaging consumer products.

This essay discussed the inability of consumers to totally avoid certain products and varying awareness among consumers in the matters of environmentally friendly packaging. In my opinion, product owners should take up the responsibility to make sure their products are not over packaged.