Do you think consumers should avoid over-packaged products or is it the responsibility of producers?

Over-packaging of food products has become a trend to make it look attractive to customers. Some people opine that over-packaging should be avoided by buyers while others believe that it should be eliminated by the producers. This essay will discuss why the producers should avoid over-packaging in order to reduce the item prices and help to combat the harmful effects on the environment.

Firstly, overpackaging of the eatables costs more to the consumers, because the money is shelled out from their pockets for the shimmery packagings. It eventually increases the market price of the actual product and can become non-affordable for some people. Manufacturers should pay attention to the price rather than packaging.

Secondly, lots of wrapping material is made of paper and plastic and it should be avoided since paper wraps come from cutting down trees and plastic is already a major contributor to climate change. For example, amazon use plastic to cover the products then puts them in a cardboard box and then seals it in a plastic bag. rather it can just send the item in the box avoiding two layers of plastic covering. Hence, producers can eliminate over-packaging.

In conclusion, it can be reiterated that it becomes the responsibility of the producers to avoid the over-packaging of foods at their level so that it doesn't cause the value of the goods to inflate and this will also help in reducing plastic pollution.