Environment pollution is too alarming to be managed by individuals Real change can be made at the government level What extent do you agree or disagree

Environmental pollution, be it air pollution, water or noise pollution, has raised at an alarming rate over the past decade. It is argued by some that it can be managed by individuals, while other are of the opinion that it can be handled efficiently only by the government. I agree that government can bring a positive change in reducing the pollution over individual efforts.

Government can have a wider impact in curbing the problem, since the rules and regulations enforced by the government will be applicable to people all over the country and they have to abide by them. Government can impose hefty fines on defaulters and in effect, people will start following the rules which will have a direct impact in reduced air pollution. For example, data revealed that the number of pollution certificates issued were the maximum in 3 weeks than last 5 years after the amended Motor Vehicle Act with hefty fines was imposed.

Individuals can also contribute to reduce the pollution at their own level, but it would not be able to tackle this global problem. There is very less that they can do alone. Every individual does not want to take the responsibility of doing things until or unless it is imposed on them. For example, people can only contribute in certain ways like stop throwing dirty water in rivers, listen to music at low volume or start to carpool instead of taking their vehicle out everytime.

Though people can play an important role in decreasing the environmental pollution to some extent by bringing a change in their habits, it is only the government who can play a major and crucial role. I agree that government has to act swiftly and efficiently to make sure we all are aware of the consequences of pollution and make sure we change our ways to protect our nature.