Do you think consumers should avoid over packaged products or is it the responsibility of producers?

Over packaged products create a lot of problems for the environment. Some people believe that producers are responsible for these commodities while opponents think consumers should not buy these products. This essay explains the responsibility of both consumers and producers.

First, producers are responsible for what they manufacture. Environmental researchers of Harvard University conducted an experiment to test the hypothesis that buyers trust manufacturers. After analyzing data, they concluded that trust is positively correlated with customer behaviour. Those who trust producers are three times more likely to buy what is produced, regardless of the packaging. In other words, the more you trust, the less you choose on what to buy. The difference between these two groups were statistically significant. The results were consistent across different studies.

Second, customer behaviour is another significant predictor of the popularity of over packaged products. In a recent study, marketing researchers undertook a project to investigate the relationship between customers’ choices and the intention to buy. The findings revealed that if customers make informed decisions, they will not buy over packaged products. However, the relationship did not prove to be causal.

In a nutshell, producers and customers both have a pivotal role in producing and consuming over packaged products. Corporations should take responsibility for being environmentally friendly and customers should be sensitive to what they buy and what the consequences of buying over packaged products are. In the meanwhile, the media and NGOs should be committed to informing and educating people to facilitate the process of implementing such a dramatic change.