Do you think English will remain as the dominant international language?

English is the most likely candidate for global language in 21st century. Despite having many languages around the world, it remains official language in almost 100 countries. As majority of the people speak English, it will take centuries to replace it with some other power language. So in my opinion English language will remain as the global language despite globalization.

Ever since English has been adapted as international language, it has become language of conversation between two people of different countries and culture. It has rapidly become the world language and over a billion of people speak it. For example: In any international summit or conference, English acts as the means of communication.

To achieve international peace and coexistence, there is strong need for one common world language and English has come very close to it. Globalization is bound to happen and if ever any country like China became global superpower in the future, will Mandarin (language of China) get the same status as of English? I doubt the idea.

The academic curriculum in schools and colleges across the world has made English as their mandatory language. It has become the lingua franca of science. English is now the language of business, pop culture and overall it is associated with globalization. The companies are marking their products in English language too to market them globally so it will very tedious process to change it.

Three quarters of the world’s overall population are English speakers. There are fewer chances of any other language to enjoy the international status. In my opinion, English Language will continue to be the global language.