Do you think formal written assessments in today's world to assess students’ performance is effective or not? Discuss your viewpoint on this and support your answer with examples.

These days there is an ongoing debate about whether a written assessment is an effective method to assess the performance of a student. While it is possible to claim that written assessment is a method for assessing a students performance my view is that written assessment should not be the major criteria to check the performance of a student. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analysing both sides of the discussion.

There are several reasons why a students performance should not only be accessed by his or her written assessment. One of them is students who are not good at writing or articulating a sentence well will score less in their exams whereas there could be students who are not good at writing but have enough experience and logical understanding of how to use the knowledge that they have received in a real-life situation. It should also be taken into account that students who have very high social skill can perform their tasks in a real-world scenario.

However, those who argue that a formal written assessment is the best way to evaluate a students performance can actually be a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that for certain subject the only way of assessment is by written examination. For example for subjects like physics and math assessments can only be done through written examination. Then, there are concerns about how the student would use them in a real-life situation.

While there are strong arguments on both the case my personal opinion is that written assessment should not be the only form of assessment for evaluating a students performance. I recommend that students performance should be evaluated based on multiple assessments.