Do you think formal written assessments in today's world to assess students’ performance is effective or not? Discuss your viewpoint on this and support your answer with examples.

Various universities and schools these days, are assessing their students capabilities based on formal assessments in order to decide their caliber. This practice is providing a competitive environment to all the students, that are struggling to achieve the highest grades. Many surveys have been conducted to evaluate the effectiveness of this practice and observed various advantages and disadvantages. In this essay, I will be discussing my point of view along with examples.

Firstly, it has been observed that universities and school students are under tremendous pressure of achieving highest grade. This pressure is not only impacting their mental health but also affecting their physical health. Student prefer to spend most of their time while studying and neglect physical activities. According to one medical survey, such tremendous pressure has been shown to be linked with psychological disorders.

On the other hand, in order to determine the criteria of promotion from one grade to an other, some sort of assessment would be required by teachers. If such criteria do not exist, it would be difficult for educational institute to differentiate among students who should and should not be promoted to next classes.

In conclusion, I believe that some sort of healthy competition should exist for students to compete with each other. However, we need to make sure that this competition should not be focused on written assessment only. Examination should include other evaluation methods too such as practical or presentations.