Do you think that formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school?

The trend that assessing students knowledge by formal written examinations has sparked the controversy among group of people. Even though, many claim that children can be judged by continuously providing assignment work and project works. On the other hand, other group argue that formal written examinations will bring out hidden talent of the student. I strongly agree that annual exams at schools play a major role in understanding children capability. This essay would further elaborate both sides with justifying reasons and thus lead to appropriate conclusion.

To begin with, the homework given by teachers are not done by students. A study conducted by the education department of India shows that many parents help their children in completion of their assigned projects and tasks given at school. Not only this, project works are copied from other smart students in order to submit them on time. From this data, it is clear that it is not a reliable method to judge them by tasks completed.

On the other hand, the quarterly or half yearly examinations conducted in educational institutions not only make students to learn topic but also help them to memorize the chapters what they listened in the classroom sessions. Moreover, these exams will be conducted in the presence of invigilator that restrict them to take any external help from outside. In addition, these exams shows how much grasping power does an individual have and faculty members can judge the students' abilities. For instance, specifically, a survey conducted by University of California showed that out of 100 top schools in world, 96 educational organizations voted for formal written examinations.

To conclude, looking at the discussion happened it is clear that advantages of formal examinations outweigh the benefits of test conducted through manual work. In nutshell, I strongly recommend that these exams should be implemented across the globe and it is predicted that in near future many countries will adopt this method of assessment because of its effectiveness.