do you think that formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school?

One of the most conspicuous trends to today's world is to see a colossal change in formal written examination. There is a widespread worry that traditional way of examination will hardly gauge students' capability accurately and precisely. In my opinion, this apprehension is warranted and merits serious consideration.

There are a lot of arguments in favour of my stance but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that traditional way to written examination cannot measure students' ability. In fact, not only do students require to memorize each and every line of the paragraphs from the book but also some intelligent students cannot perform due to time pressure. We can find overwhelming evidence in support of the fact that there is a negative correlation between formal examination and future prospects of students. Needless to say, all these demerits have a far-reaching impact on gauging students' performance.

Moreover, another pivotal aspect of this argument is that students urge to finish the exam on a restricted time. In other words, if any students fail to perform well within the time, his performance counts as a poor. For example, there are a number of studies from various governmental bodies that show that the performance of students in other pattern of examination such as research report and assignment has far better outcome than traditional examination. Hence, it is apparent why many people are in favour of avoiding formal exam.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of other types of testing students' performance is too great to ignore.