Marketing strategy for big companies should be placed on offer and discounts, and in what ways this impact on their reputation.

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is offering short-term discount in marketing strategies of companies. There is a widespread concern that an increased number of promotion and discount strategies will hardly meet companies' long-term goal. In my opinion, this apprehension is warranted and merits serious considerations.

There is a number of arguments in favour of my stance but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that discounted commodity prices entice customer into purchasing product in an effort to augment profit at the expense of quality. Not only do big brands like Samsung and Apple keep their prices high to maintain company's image but they also avoid discounts and promotions to any customers. We can find overwhelming evidence in support the fact that there is a negative correlation between offering discount and companies' reputation. Needless to say all these demerits have a far-reaching impact on making company's growth.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that companies will lose their regular customers when they introduce discount strategies. Besides, the trust and faith on the goods and services determine by recurrence of customer not the price of goods. For example, there are a good deal of research by various governmental bodies that show that companies providing heavy discount on product often fail to achieve the mission in the long term. Hence, it is apparent why many companies are against providing discounts.

In view of the argument outlined above, one can conclude that despite some benefits the drawbacks of offer and discounts are indeed too dire to ignore.