Does the advent of internet change the role of teacher? To what extent do you agree?

Knowledge is the only thing that cannot be stolen. Some people believe that internet has changed the education system and current learning techniques. I also agree with this statement in to some extent and here I'm going to elaborate my opinions on above matter.

To begin with, few decades ago teachers were the main resource for students to acquire knowledge. Apart from the books, students always have to depend on the teachers to solve or clarify issues. After invention of the internet all systems have turned upside down. This is mainly because many students are now interested in self studying and even schools are promoting it. Surprisingly, books also out of date now. Students are preferred to refer internet rather than reading pages and pages. It is obvious that the role of teacher has changed because of the internet in some countries especially in developed countries that has the internet and computer facilities.

In contrast, we have to accept the fact that, the role of teacher cannot replaced by internet. It is a well known factor that, book knowledge is not sufficient for students to survive in the competitive society. They also have to teach practical skills like respecting each other, patience, team working etc. Teachers are the ones who shaped students with all these qualities. For an example, anyone can be the batch top or the class first but they cannot be humble human beings without the proper guidance of a teacher.

To conclude based on the above mentioned factors I believe that internet has changed the role of teacher but we still need teachers in schools as internet cannot creates a man with good and practical qualities.