Do you think formal written assessments in today's world to assess students’ performance is effective or not? Discuss your viewpoint on this and support your answer with examples.

Nowadays there is a huge competition between people especially in education field. While some individuals believe that formal written assessments measure student's performance effectively and others advocate that it is not the correct way to measure student's performances. This essay will elaborate both arguments and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, todays education system practice students to memorize all the theories which they learned in schools and write them in the exam papers. Teachers do not promote students to think creatively or else they do not expect different and innovative answers from students. On the other hand, sometimes students are given course works or reports to submit which only measure the student's ability of using internet. They just google what they want, copy and paste them on the report. Finally, he or she get A+ for that assignment. Hence i think that, measuring the student's performances using written assessments is not an effective method.

In contrast, there are various practical ways to check the student's abilities within schools or universities. Instead of giving them written assignments, teachers can ask students to do more presentations, debates, discussions and practical sessions. Team work improve student’s good qualities like respect each other’s, accept and listen to other's words etc whereas practical sessions help students to improve creativity and innovative thinking.

To conclude, based on above mentioned factors it is clear that, written assessments is only one way of measuring student's performances while there are so many other successful methods to check student's abilities.