Does law induce a change in the people's behavior?

Does law induces a change in the general behavior of the people is the topic under debate. Laws and regulations are developed by the government to maintain a more civilized nation. They are meant to be followed in order to remain on the safe side and traverse through one's path easily without any hurdle. I will express complete disagreement with this statement and will offer reasons to support my viewpoint.

Besides, of being a more organized nation with the practice of laws, it also helps in reducing the crime rate to a certain extent but not eliminating it completely.The sense of the fear from the punishment of not following the rule is the most disturbing which forces the citizen to oblige by them. There are many practices that we are doing out of the habit. For example, stopping on the red signal, giving an indicator before making a turn and wearing the seat belt before driving are the actions that we are doing without even realizing.

Laws and regulations help to mold our behavior in a manner which is beneficial for us but it is not producing a complete alteration. Still, there are robberies, road accidents and shoplifts. Although the laws are there, the important thing is that one should follow them strictly.

To wrap up and in the view of the above-presented points, I still advocate that by following rules and regulations, one can become more self-disciplined and organized but it will not completely alter his behavior as it depends on many other factors as well.