Education should be accessible to people of all economic backgrounds. All levels of education, from primary school to tertiary education, should be free.

To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

Education is now a topic of rising interest. Everyone has to get education irrespective of their economic background. This essay will discuss if education should be provided free of cost at all levels.

Generally, the quality of higher education is steadily coming down over the last few decades. If education is made free to all, this problem will worsen. For example, the median salary for a college professor has increased two times over last four years. It is thereby clear that free education will not be a sustainable model for future and it will further dilute the quality of education.

The number of high-income people in the society is increasing rapidly across the globe. For people who can afford to pay the tuition fees, there is no need for free primary or tertiary education. Students with low household income can be given scholarships to pay for the education. There is no need to provide free tuition for all levels of education.

This essay discussed that free education can negatively affect the quality of teaching and also the income distribution in current society does not justify a need for free education at all levels of education. By above-mentioned reasons, it can be concluded that education from primary school to university should not be free.