Some people prefer to spend their holidays in resorts where everything is organized for them and they take little interest in the country they are visiting. Others prefer to travel around the country and to see how the people live, to get to know their customs and traditions and cuisine.

Write an essay on which type of foreign travel you think is best for both the tourist and the local community.

Tourism has become a major source of income for many countries across the globe. Modern means of transport offers tourists with a variety of options for organizing their trip, including resort stay packaged tours or roaming freely across the nation they are visiting. This essay will discuss which of these is more beneficial to the community; packaged resort trips or tourists organizing the trip themselves.

Any international trip becomes more interesting and fun, only when the local attractions are visited and ethnic cuisine is tasted. When people go for a trip organized by a resort, the local flavor will be missing. Most often such a tour will not provide full entertainment to travelers. This is especially true when the resort is located in a bustling, cosmopolitan town where most of the population will be urban. It is clear that tourists will miss the rural vibes of the country.

While some people believe that tourists will feel safer in a resort setting, rather than traveling around the country, many tourists think otherwise. Moreover, safety should be considered before the trip itself. If the destination does not seem safe to go, the trip should be planned to elsewhere. So, this aspect does not show any benefit about opting for resort tours.

This essay discussed some advantages and disadvantages of organized tours versus unorganized trips. Overall, it is evident that tourists and communities benefit, if tourists travel around the country and visit the local neighborhoods and attractions.