In the past 100 years, there have been many inventions such as antibiotics, airplanes and computers. What do you think is the most important of them? Why?

State your opinion and support it with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Last century was marked by numerous inventions that changed the life of mankind. When selecting the most prominent invention of the twentieth century, the leading choices are antibiotics, airplanes and computers. This essay will discuss why computers are the most influential of the three and, therefore, the most important invention of all.

The importance of an invention is closely related to the impact of it in the daily life of humans. By that standard, computers have a profound impact in making our life easier and productive. During last 100 years, for example, the amount of data handled by computers has multiplied exponentially. This has helped in automation of even the most complex jobs such as satellite navigation and medical surgery. All of this progress in our society can be attributed to the invention of computers that happened many years back.

Despite the evident achievements in information technology, some people think that invention of the computer was not prominent as that of life-saving antibiotics. They don’t understand that even for manufacturing antibiotics, the intervention of computers is needed. For example, artificially intelligent computers control the quality assurance of antibiotic drug manufacturing process. At the current situation, it is clear that computers have superseded all other machines in terms of application and significance.

Science and technology have advanced at an exponential rate over past 100 years which gave rise to the introduction of various innovative machines like biological drugs, the airline industry and information technology. In my opinion, computers are, undoubtedly, the most significant invention occurred in the last century.