In education system, assessment through formal written examination still valid?

Since ages, formal examinations always remain a source of assessment for students . While some people argue that there are also alternative modes to assess students better , and some say written assessment serve the purpose better. This essay will discuss the reasons as why the written assessment is much better way to judge the student.

To begin with, in education process, written examinations reflect the student’s real capability. In formal exam, students true knowledge can be tested. To instance, those students who get good marks havea higher chances of getting success in latter part of life. Therefore, it can be taken into account that written test is a true measure of assessment .

Further reinforcing, in written examination in presence of teachers, students can’t cheat which reflects their true ability. While in other modes of assessment like group discussion etcetera, students can still cheat which does not give the exact assessment in this competitive world. To give an example, there have been cases of fraud seen in many nations’ interview process. Hence, it can be concluded that written examination importance cannot be marginalized.

To recapitulate, this essay discussed that written examination help in avoiding cheat and show true results. In my opinion, I would strongly recommend that written exam solves the whole purpose of the real assessment.