Food travels thousands of miles farm to consumers. Some people believe we
should buy food from local farmers to protect the environment and support
local business and do the advantage of this out by the dis-advantage.
Nowadays, supermarkets are stocked with higher percentage of imported foods rather than local
food products. As per the survey, many people around the world are likely to consume imported
foods rather than local ones. This cause a detrimental effect on social economy and great impact on
environment. We will discuss about this briefly in the following paragraph.
On the positive side, Transporting foods over long distance gives an choice of food for many foodies
around the world. We can taste a varieties of foods like fruits, vegetables from all around the world.
For example, ten years ago, we hardly saw Kiwi fruit in supermarket since it requires a proper
tropical conditions to harvest. So, only few countries have harvested. But, now Kiwi fruit is easily
available and can be seen in every supermarket in all corners of the world.
On the negative side, Importing foods may affect the economy and environment in many possible
ways. For example, Over packaging will be done and excess preservative can be added to prevent
the food from rot since imported foods are travelled over long distance and this cause an
detrimental effect on environment, economy and health of citizens as well.
To conclude this, Traditional foods are to be preferred rather than imported foods. Every citizen
must support local food products to keep their health, economy and environment to lead a
prosperous life. Albeit, Imported foods has both advantages and dis advantages but the
disadvantages outweigh the advantages.