Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this.

In the last decade, the examination system has sparked heated debates across the society. A substantial number of individuals feel that formal examination is the only way to assess a student's performance, others feel that coursework and projects are more effective in achieving that. This essay will assert both points before delivering a plausible conclusion.

On the outset, innovations are happening so rapidly in every field in today’s generation and education should evolve with the advancement. Schools should place their focus on teaching new technologies and developments instead of making students take copious exams. Students should not limit their knowledge to textbooks, instead, schools should engage them in experiential learning through varied sessions. For instance, schools could introduce hands on classes on machine work and should allow for them to practice the same outside class.

Furthermore, exams only force students into memorizing materials and present the same thing during the examination. Many have also criticized that the exam questions do not test students on their application skills in the subject field and therefore not useful at all in real world jobs. Scientists have also asserted that learning through coursework and projects have been proven to help students gain a better understanding of the topic and develop strong communication skills that are essential for careers.

According to the aforementioned arguments, one can deduce that the exams is not the only effective way to assess performance but there are numerous benefits assessing students through coursework and projects. In a nutshell, schools should concentrate their efforts in the development of learning through practical knowledge.