Does a certain type of music affect young children's learning? Agree / Disagree ?

Recently, the phenomenon of the effect of type of music on children’s learning has sparked heated debate and high degree of ambivalence. Some feel that certain music does have an impact on children’s development while others maintained that it does little to no difference. I am inclined to believe that it does have implications on children and will provide reasons before arriving at a logical conclusion.

At the outset, life without music would be a boring one and many would argue that childhood should never be the case. However, not all genres of music influence a child’s learning positively. Some examples of these are dark or heavy metal or those with suggestive meaning which are likely to unfavorable learning outcomes in children. Furthermore, behavioral scientists have asserted that music has profound implications on children’s learning, since their minds are especially susceptible to such influence.

On the contrary, some believe that we leave children to explore the different types of music because by doing so, would enable them to uncover more about their individuality. In my experience, music played a pivotal role in my learning in childhood. As I recall, music helped me to learn numerous phrases which I would not be exposed to otherwise. Similarly, my brother developed a passion for music during his childhood and pursued a career within this field.

According to the aforementioned arguments, one can reach the plausible conclusion that certain types of music can not foster learning but also lead to a future career. In a nutshell, the benefits of music in children’s learning outweighs the potential drawbacks.