governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke or decision is up to the individual level?

As we know that smoking is injurious for health. Where a significant number of people think that governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, some believe that this decision is up to the individual. This is contentious question where people are having both the notions. This essay will discuss about later mentioned aspect.

There are myriads of arguments in favor of this point that smoking is depends upon personal choice. The most preponderant one is that on the packet of cigarettes, governement already mentioned a picture which clearly defined the consequences of smoking. But still billions of adults are chain smokers who smoke tobacco every day and some people use multiple packets of cigarettes in a day. Consequently, it will not only affect them only but also those people who would be surronding by them after smoke.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that it is a matter of personal choice which start as a general habbit but ultimately people get trapped into this habbit. People are aware that it can cause them throat cancer, if they would not stop this bad habbit in long run. However, still they don't care about this drug. Moreover, its a personal choice as no one can stop anyone to do anything.

In views of arguments outline above, one can conclude that tobacco consumptions is personal choice rather than governement can stop consumer. If we are having something bad after knowing the bad affects on our personal health so its untlimately our decision not anyone else. User will be self responsible for the steps he/she will take.