Hosting sporting events such as the Olympics and the World Cup can bring benefits to the host countries. How far do you agree with this statement? Use your own examples to support.

There is an intense competition among countries to host events such as FIFA worldcup and Olympics. While some people believe that hosting such events has many advantages, others maintain that it has worse consequences. This essay will discuss how these events are beneficial for the host country.

These sporting country brings huge investment in a country and create more job opportunities. When any event is planned in any country, organisers start convincing investors to invest in that country which may include improvement of infrastructure and other facilities to make that mega event successful. For instance in 2010 when it was announced that Qatar will host the FIFA world cup of 2022, construction for infrastructure started rapidly and creating many job opportunities in construction industry for local people as well. Therefore, infrastructure of a country is developed and employment opportunities.

Also these events bring people from all over the world creating awareness among people. During the event, people from different parts of the world come and have a chance to interact with local people which leads to awareness about different countries. For example, during Olympics 2000 which was held in Australia more people got to know about Australia and since then it has one of the highest immigration rate in the world. Clearly, an awareness was created about Australia as a future destination and now its economy is flourishing.

In conclusion, hosting sporting events help in creating employment opportunities for local people and also create awareness among them about future prospects. In my opinion, these events bring far too many advantages than disadvantages.