The idea of going overseas for a university degree is an exciting prospect for many people. But while it may offer some advantages, it is probably better to stay home because of the difficulties a student inevitably encounters living and studying in a different culture. Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement.

studying at university is an option for many people, but the question is

where. sometimes studying at an overseas university seems a better

option than taking the same course at a home university. This essay will

argue that while studying overseas may be problematic, it is the best

option for many.

Experiencing an overseas university requires the ability to survive a new

culture and language. By successfully negotiating the challenges of life

in a new country a student can mature and grow. For example, gaining

a qualification also requires the ability to develop social skills, living

skills and sometimes supporting ourselves by working. These

challenges all benefit the student who studies overseas.

studying at home can be less expensive than studying overseas while

receiving the same qualification. university fees are generally cheaper

at home than for international students. For example, international

student fees can sometimes run into the tens of thousands of dollars,

whereas a similar university course in a hometown can be significantly

less expensive. The cost of education and living expenses is a big

consideration when deciding which university is best.

This essay has argued that an overseas university can provide lifechanging

experiences but can also be a very expensive way to be

educated. In my opinion, the long-term benefits of studying at an

overseas university outweigh the financial outlay.