It is as important for school children to study music, art and sport as it is for them to become literate and numerate.' How far do you agree with this statement?

Many schools around the world are now ignoring music, arts and sports. While some people believe that school children should be taught music, arts and sports along with other regular subjects, others maintain that only regular subjects are important. This essay will discuss why children should be allowed to study all subjects including arts and music.

The primary aim of school education is to introduce all subjects to students and, thereby giving a chance for students to explore and find out their interests. If activities like sports and music are removed from the syllabus, this aim cannot be fulfilled. Studies show that the interests of kids vary significantly that some kids may excel in music where other students from same school mayexcel in maths. This nature shows that children should be taught all subjects in school.

Engaging in activities like music will give relaxation to students. If school children are allowed to learn only certain subjects like science or maths it is possible that children might get exhausted. For example, a sports session can act as a good stress relief for kids. Under these circumstances, there is no reason to remove music from the syllabus of school children.

This essay discussed how extra curricular actvities like sports and music can enhance quality of school education. In my opinion, school children should have the freedom to study music, arts and sports.