Parents have more influence on a child's development than school does. How far do you agree with this statement? Support your point of view with examples from your own experience.

Overall development of a child’s character depends on many factors, including the influence of parents and teachers. While some people believe that school influences the development of children more than family, others maintain that parents have the major role in shaping up the character of children. This essay will discuss why educational institutions have not achieved the prominence enough to solely influence kid’s character and, therefore, it is the behavior of parents that matters the most in child’s life.

The time students spent in school is now decreasing around the world. Technology has made teaching a faster process and thereby, most schools dismiss early these days. For example, nowadays in developed countries, some tuitions are happening through electronic devices and students need to be in their classroom only for two hours a day. This trend has reduced the influence of schools on overall development of children. On the other hand, children spend most of their time with parents and, obviously the influence of parents on children is increasing.

Despite the evident truth that parents and relatives play the major role in character building of kids, some people think that teachers are guiding the students and can influence them heavily. But what they don’t understand is that once students change the grades, their teachers also change. So, there is no lasting influence a teacher can make on students. But parents stay with the child throughout all grades and thereby influence the child with an everlasting effect.

This essay discussed how the time spent in the family influences the kids and the diminishing role of teachers in influencing children in a significant way. In my opinion, parents do have more influence on their kids than the school has.