Law can change human behavior. Do you agree or not?

These days, it is an irrefutable fact that people debate about the law and the vast majority believe that it controls human behaviour. While there is a history of law that runs hundreds of years of past, some people deter to consider law changes people. However, in this essay, I shall analyse both positive and negative impacts of abiding by the law and rational conclusion is presented at a later stage.

At the outlay, there are several reasons why many people prefer to abide by the law and one of them is to live peacefully and make people disciplined. As the initial penalty for breaking the law, verbal warnings are introduced, it is then followed by a written warning and a fine. Depends on the cause of breaking the law, people may face jail time, a life sentence or death penalty in some countries. With respect to an academic article published at Harvard University in regards to law, it is revealed that enforcing the law helps people towards refuge.

Nevertheless, there are some people consider law is an obstruction for a peaceful lifestyle. Moreover, it is argued that harsh punishments such as life sentences, death penalty are cruel and it violates human rights and yet, authorities tend to enforce the law to civilise the society.

While there are strong arguments to support both sides of the case, my opinion is that to enforce law helps to discipline people and I strongly believe law shapes up human behaviour tremendously.