Law Changes Human Behaviour

Laws are sets of rules and regulation placed in the society to guide and control people. Most individuals have argued that laws can change people’s behaviour while others think that it has no influence on people. In my opinion, law has a great influence on peoples' attitudes and can be said that they help in molding people’s daily life style. This essay will discuss how law can be of great influence to people’s lives.

Firstly, a lawless society is inhabitable because when people know that their actions have no negative consequences, they will tend to go wide in their actions. Take for example, if there is no law forbidding killing of fellow citizens, an angered person can wake up and kill as many as he/she likes since no law will hold him. Evidence has shown that most people became responsible after serving a jail terms because of the punishments received while serving.

Secondly, naturally people likes freedom, if there is no law to checkmate people’s actions they will want to exercise their freedom in a negative way. There has been an increase in killing in the US because of lack of gun control which has given more people access to guns. One will argue that if there is a law restricting people from using gun freely, the case of indiscriminate killings would have stopped.

To conclude, laws are important in a society and they help to change human behaviours. If there are no laws ,the society will be inhabitable.