In less developed countries, tourism has developed significantly in the last decade, discuss the disadvantages and advantages.

These days, there is an ongoing debate among people about tourism and if it has developed significantly in the last decade in less developed countries. While it is possible to claim that tourism generates foreign currency, my view is that disadvantages outweigh advantages. In this essay, I shall explain both sides of the argument.

There are several reasons why tourism is considered to be disadvantageous to less developed countries. One of them is that the development process a country needs to undergo. It is also argued that the cost of development goes out of taxpayers money. It should also be taken in to account that more lands will be acquired by the government and people will need to move out; however, they will be compensated. For an example, if a family is asked to move out due to a town planning proposal, it may be devastating news for them as they will have to relocate to somewhere where they do not want.

Those who argue for tourism has developed significantly have a different view and say that it actually can be a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that tourism creates more jobs. Then, there are concerns about the security of local businesses.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my personal opinion is that the development of tourism in less developed countries brought disadvantages. I would strongly recommend that the government should be more considerate about people before making plans to promote tourism.