In many countries students take a year off after finishing school and work or travel during this period. Should students take a gap year before attending universities? What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

In the recent era, having a year off after completing school is becoming popular among students. Some people believe having a year off is waste of time, while others consider it as a necessary. In my opinion, taking a year off between finishing school and enroling to university is important.

To begin with, having a year off allows students to have a break from study and freshen up before joining the university. During this break, they can either join the workforce or travel, which helps them to explore the world and lets them achieve experienced. For example, my sister was experiencing anxiety and was worried about joining university and whether she can perform well, but she chooses to have a year off, which has let her experience and now she is doing great in university. In short, taking a year off before joining university will let you focused on your study more.

In addition, choosing university can be easier after taking a year off after completing university. Many students are worried about what faculty to choose and which university to go, but while taking a year off you have plenty of time to think about and do research on that subjects. For instance, according to the survey done by Duke University, around 90% students are not happy with the faculty they choose among the students who have not take a year off. In brief, a year off before joining university will help to decide more carefully about the future career path.

To conclude, this essay discussed year off before enroling university is important because it helps to freshen up and helps decide the career path. Therefore, in my opinion, a year off after finishing school is necessary.