In many countries students take a year off after finishing school and work or travel during this period. Should students take a gap year before attending universities? What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

In the recent era, having a year off after completing school is becoming popular among students. Some people believe that having a year off is waste of time, while others argue that it is necessary. This essay will discuss why taking a year off after finishing school is important.

Since the beginning of the 21 century, 90% of students are choosing to take a year off before joining the university because it allows to have a break from study and freshen up. During this break, they can either join the workforce or travel, which helps them to explore the world and lets them achieve experienced. Recent research, which was conducted in the Melbourne University, has shown that 95% of students who took a year off did well in the university, compared to the students who did not take a year off. Therefore, it seems clear that taking a year off before joining university will help to focused on study more.

On the other hand, some people argue that taking a year off is just a waste of time, which can be crucial for their study and career. For example, if 4 years degree finishes in 2018, it will take you back which is 2019 and that is wast of time. But, these people are unaware of that fact that, taking a year off will let you be more focus and motivated. Thus, having a year off is the most important.

To conclude, this essay discussed the year off before enroling university is important because it helps to focus more and helps get motivated. In my opinion, I am inclined to believe that everyone should take a year off to be proactive in the study.