In many towns and cities, large shopping malls are replacing small local shops. What is your opinion on this? Do you think this is a positive development? Use your own experiences.

Nowadays more and more small shops are getting replaced by large shopping malls in towns and cities. This trend has become a subject of considerable controversy for people. This essay will show that the advance of shopping malls is overall a positive trend.

At first, shopping malls tend to provide a lot of convince for customers by accumulating large numbers of different shops and brands as well as variety of entertainments in the same area. Some recent social polls show that purchasers find it very comfortable to have a possibility compare prices for same goods among different brands and shops when they are relatively close to each other. It's also worth to mention that the entertainments and child areas in the malls simplify child care routines for parents that are going to shop.

At second, the mall buildings despite their huge sizes indeed help saving space due to being multi-level which positively impacts city or town development. An average mall contains about fifty different shops on its multiple levels. The same number of shops will definitely occupy a considerably larger area in city or town streets if they are build independently.

In conclusion, although some people may miss a cosy vibe of small local shops, I firmly believe that the advance of large malls brings more positive changes to the development and economy of both cities and towns.