These days, with the growing demand for specialists in the job market all over the world, the question of proper candidates recruiting has become a subject of considerable debates. While some companies tend to hire people based purely on their academic degree, others pay more attention to personality and ability to work in team. This essay will analyse the topic from different sides and show that personality skills, as well as the ability to be a team player, are more important than any academic qualification.

To begin with, the personality skills, also known as soft skills, such as communication, self-responsibility and attitude are remarkable for the complexity to train and develop. This in particular makes the skills more valuable and desirable comparing to hard skills, which an academic degree is mostly about. For example, the latest research performed by the Institute of Career Development in Australia shows that candidates with good personality skills have about 40% higher chance to get a job in world known companies, like Google, Microsoft or Apple.

Another pivotal point to mention is that being a good team player usually brings more value to a company by synergizing skills of other team members and pushing the combined efforts for achieving better results. Another interesting research from an independent journalist performed for the Association of Head Recruiters in Australia reports that companies primarily seeking for candidates with good ability of team work tend to show about 5% to 8% higher annual grows.

Finally, despite the obvious importance of an academic qualification to fulfil a role in a company, I firmly believe that soft skills, including personality and ability to work with others, are usually more beneficial for company and bring better value.