In most of the education systems, students are assessed by written examinations. Do you think it is a good idea or not? Give your reasons.

Nowadays, the phenomenon of written exams and its consequent ramifications has become a heated debate. Although a substantial number of individuals think that written assessment implicates some invalidating outcomes, the majority of academics believe it is a constructive approach. In this essay, I will briefly analyze the prospective advantages of the written assessment.

To begin with, one of the most beneficial aspects of students' written exams is the acquisition of fundamental social skills. In such a case, a study conducted by a handful of researchers at Tehran University on two groups of schoolchildren. Accordingly, those who were assessed by written assignments were three times more likely to succeed in their social relationships, twice as likely to listen effectively, and four times more likely to speak coherently. The variation between these two groups was statistically significant. As a result, scientific research supports the hypothesis which the written assessment can cause effective communication.

Moreover, another preponderant advantage of written tests is the obtaining of employment competencies. As an academic example, to measure the effects of writing styles on filling job vacancies, a research project was undertaken by a group of organizational psychologists at Sharif University. According to the results, higher concise writing styles had a meaningful positive correlation with higher numbers of interview invitations, higher success rates, and more personal satisfaction. Therefore, the more clarity and succinctness of the curriculum vitae, the more employable is the job seeker.

In a nutshell, the written examination deduced from effective communication and better employability. In my opinion, if educational authorities would want to leverage written exams effectively, they should also consider subjects like stress management as well as time management in schools' curricula.