In most of the education systems, students are assessed by written examinations. Do you think it is a good idea or not? Give your reasons.

Since time immemorial, students learning has been assessed through written examinations which are undertaken throughout the course of their education. While some people are of the opinion that written exams are a bad idea, others take it to be a good way of analyzing students learning ability. This essay will discuss the two opinions and there after come up with a definitive conclusion.

Engaging students who are studying the same course with a similar exam creates uniformity and fairness. Written exams are scored and students are ranked based on the best performance, this allows for a standardized mechanism of ranging students based on the outcome of the results. This is especially key in major exams such as the national exams in my country which allow for university intake. Room in the university is limited and only a certain number can be accommodate per year therefore giving the best scorers this chance to attend university is only fair.

On the other hand, written assessments leave students who are gifted in other areas out. Not all people are equipped to excel in academic areas but this same people are geniuses in the arts and music or sports. Written assessments tests leaves out this kind of people. It is therefore necessary for governments to roll out curriculums that take care of all sorts of people and gives a fair chance of success to all kinds of students.

In conclusion, written assessment test is way a standardized way to analyze a student's ability on the academic front. This exams have their key advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, the written exam outweighs the disadvantages and should therefore continue. Given that, its is prudent that the government looks into accommodating students who have other kinds of gifts other than academic ability.