In most of the education systems, students are assessed by written examinations. Do you think it is a good idea or not? Give your reasons.

Recently, educational assessment methods have sparked an ongoing controversy, which inevitably leads to a moot question of whether students' knowledge should be evaluated by written examinations. Although many people state that conventional pen and paper examinations are quite beneficial, this essay will discuss why these tests are unable to assess students' extent of knowledge.

To begin with, there are reasons why written tests fail to reliably evaluate students' knowledge and information. The most important one stems from the fact that test-wise candidates can often perform well on written exams without having good underlying knowledge or skills. For instance, international studies have shown repeatedly that students who score high in written examinations do not necessarily perform well in group works and projects. This is because students might memorize large amounts of information from those aspects of the curriculum that are more likely to be tested. In sum, rote learning is a good method to score high in written examinations.

Another key justification for upholding this notion is that the results of pen and paper tests may be influenced by external factors like sickness and stress. A salient example of that is many hard-working students who get low scores in pen and paper tests. Some test-takers perform poorly in written exams simply because of anxiety or losing concentration caused by being under time pressure or disturbed by various surrounding noises.

In conclusion, due to the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that written texts cannot be considered as truly indicative of students' knowledge. Projects and group works can be used as better alternative ways to assess students.