In most of the education systems, students are assessed by written examinations. Do you think it is a good idea or not?

The issue of examination form has been marked by controversy among educational authorities. While many of them believe that formal examination brings about the equal situation and is the best practice for students assessment, I am totally convinced that there are more contemporary ways to assess students which is more beneficial.

To begin with, the formal examination has taken centre stage for at least 5 decades in educational systems. Now, it is time to change the assessment of students in modern ways. Assessing student’s ability and knowledge in groups can be advantageous. Moreover, we can teach students how to act efficiently in their peer groups. Therefore, students not only learn how to help each other to solve problems which in turn, can bring about socialization but also assess themselves in that course.

Moreover, the formal examination may pose major problems on youngsters’ health. As research findings on students confirm, the pressure exerted by written examination can inflict irreparable harms on children’s mental health in the long run. As a result, they cannot use their knowledge thoroughly during the formal exams. As it clearly shows, taking written exam not only is not a sufficient tool to assess student’s knowledge but also can harm their overall health.

As a conclusion, I would like to strictly reaffirm that formal exams seem to be not suitable tools for assessment youngsters and we should be aware of consequences of written exams.