Law can change people's behaviour. do you agree or not?

In modern societies, the law takes centre stage. Many people claim that law can affect citizen's behaviour, as well. As far as I am concerned, I am convinced that law can influence the adult's manner by compelling them to obey rules and preventing them from illegal discriminations.

To begin with, one of the major issues in modern societies is to compel people to obey legislation in order to manage the society and prevent violation and crime. Applying strict legislation on the public seems to be the most solid approach to solve this issue. Therefore, laws inevitably play a critical role in citizen's lives and behaviour. As it clearly proves legislations by obliging ordinary people to obey and acting as a deterrent against crimes alter people's manner and actually influence people to be law-abiding.

Moreover, the law can prevent illegal discrimination such as racial bias or gender bias. For example, having a clear law about employment can prevent employers from applying gender discrimination in organizations. Consequently, this legislation makes employers to obey the equality law in their companies. As it is clear, having restrictive rules results in alter people's behaviour.

As a conclusion, I would like to reaffirm that law can influence people's behaviour in order to manage social issues such as discriminations and crimes.